Limpopo Tourism Agency
About Us


The Limpopo Tourism Agency (LTA) was established in terms of the Northern Province Tourism and Parks Board Act 8 of 2001. The mandate of the LTA is to promote, foster and develop tourism to and within the Limpopo Province.



To position Limpopo as a leading tourism destination in Southern Africa.



To promote and offer a sustainable and diverse tourism experience through strategic marketing (destination marketing) and support and facilitate tourism development programmes, collaborations with stakeholders and sector transformation. 



  • • Integrity
  • • Respect
  • • Excellence
  • • Responsibility
  • • Communication
  • • Accountability



Previously called the Northern Province, Limpopo is a land of beautiful and contrasting landscapes, which is typical of Africa. Hence it has become a favourite destination for leisure and adventure travellers worldwide.

Come to a region of infinite scenic beauty with a great diversity of both natural and man-made attractions, rich cultural heritage and an abundance of wildlife and nature-based tourism opportunities.

Our network of protected areas and nature reserves is amongst the best on the African continent. Through these nature reserves, we seek to preserve our natural heritage for future generations and for sharing with the international community.

We have spectacular mountain scenery, which beckons hikers, climbers and bikers, while mystic cultural destinations intrigue both local and international tourists. The game viewing is absolutely fantastic and possibly the best in the country – hence we are the preferred Eco-tourism destination in Southern Africa.

Limpopo Province is located in the far Northern part of South Africa and shares borders with three neighboring countries: Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique. For this reason, the Province is also known as the gateway to other African countries. The Province also shares provincial borders with Gauteng, Mpumalanga and North West provinces.

Limpopo landscape and vegetation varies from one area to the other. The vegetation ranges from Tropical Forests, Bush and Shrubs to semi-desert areas with small trees and bushes. The landscape also ranges from mountainous to flat land.

Limpopo is divided into five regions, strategically located according to the cultural inhabitants. Capricorn is the central region predominantly occupied by the Bapedi People. Waterberg is the largest region in the province with the majority of people being the Batswana people. The Vhembe region in the far north is dominated by Vhavenda and Vatsonga people. The Mopani region towards the Kruger National Park is dominated by Vatsonga, whereas the Sekhukhuni region is dominated by Bapedi and Ndebele people.

Limpopo is the only Province in South Africa with more than two cultural groups staying together in their original habitat in harmony. Other ethnic groups include the English and Afrikaner people.

English is regarded as a business language but other native languages of the province include Tshivenda, Sepedi, Xitsonga, Setswana, Isindebele and Afrikaans.

Limpopo has a predominant Christian religious society. However there are other traditional religions such as Islam and Hinduism.

Most of the businesses operate normally from 09:00 a.m. to 17:00 p.m and also accept credit cards (e.g. Visa). National Banks are also available and they offer services of international standards, e.g. FNB, Standard Bank, Nedbank, African Bank and ABSA.

Limpopo’s land area takes 123.910 km2 with a population of 5.3 million. Polokwane International Airport is the main airport along with other local airports, such as Eastgate Airport in Hoedspruit and Kruger National Park Airport in Phalaborwa.

The Province has a network of tarred roads which cover the entire area, including the tarred road inside the Kruger National Park.

Internet operates in all areas and there are internet cafés available in major towns around the province. The value added tax is charged at 14%. Visitors may claim VAT refunds at major border posts and at international airports on departure from South Africa.

    Contact Info